Saturday, April 9, 2016

The 2016 ALLC Governance Implementation Team meets on a monthly basis for planning and oversight of the governance and operational changes that approved by the Congregational Council and members of Abiding Love. The current team is Chaired by me, and includes Kurt Lowe, Dale Sump, Steve Kikta, Liz Segner-Zarate, and Pastors Lynnae Sorensen and Brad Highum.

Additionally, a new and very active committee under the direction of the GIT is envisioning and planning the revised Council structure and processes. This group is named the Council Task Force (CTF), and is Chaired by Greg Dew. The other members of the CTF are Pastor Lynnae Sorenson, Leslie A. Van Leeuwen, Bill Hatcher, Pastor Brad Highum, Mark Glowacz, and Lisa Krabbenhoft. As you can see, the pastors are integrally involved in these two important planning groups.

Operational changes are already in place through the development of new organizational structures called Ministry Areas. These are groups representing the combined planning and functions of several previous boards, with much greater freedom and authority to get their job(s) done with less direct supervision by a Board Director. 

The Congregation Council accepted the recommendations of the GIT and began the transition to the new governance structure by designating the Fellowship Ministry Area and the Outreach Ministry Area. Billye Reeves-Trostel leads the Fellowship Ministry Area, and Steve Kikta heads up the Outreach Ministry Area. Feel free to talk with Billye or Steve about the specifics of what’s happening in those areas and how you might be able to help. 

We would like this blog to be an important communicational element in letting the congregation know about what is happening with the governance processes, so be sure to leave your comments or questions to help inspire that conversation.

Blessings to all,

       ~ George Glaser ~

Chair, Governance Implementation Team